“The Lodgers (2017); here to stay?” A horror film review.

Okay, let me start off by saying I am a huge fan of Gothic horror films. I just can’t get enough of them, and honestly, I’m not sure why.  Something about the overall production using Victorian costumes, moody low-lit lighting and periodic set just captivates me.

If you’re stuck on what films fit this genre, just think of; Sleepy Hollow, The Others, The Woman in Black, Interview with a Vampire, The Haunting etc.

Give me a haunted Victorian house lit dimly using dozens of candles any day.

However, does my love for all things Gothic excuse a poorly executed story line?

When Netflix notified me of a film they’d added called The Lodgers my little Gothic horror loving heart was filled with glee.

s-l300(Actual image of my little Gothic heart)

To be quite blunt; I’m not quite sure what the overall premise of the film is. It was unclear, and it seemed (after googling “The Lodgers ending explained”) no one else was sure either.

The story starts with beautiful eerie singing using a set of rules as the lyrics. It explains that the two siblings who inherit the house, Charlotte Vega and Bill Milner , must abide by these rules or they shall face the consequences.

As the film goes on, we find out what the consequences are, of which I’m still unsure. It involves their ancestors ascending from underneath the house which appears to be under water. This is meant to link in with the fact that all their ancestors committed suicide in the nearby lake. I’m not sure why they want to return to kill their relatives, all I know is it occurs because they didn’t abide by the law that states that they must return home before midnight.

Although, that being said, I would 100% watch this film again. I feel like there may have been something I have missed that was vital to the plot. It’s got some brilliant acting, with a small cast (I always feels this adds to a plot line, almost makes the story seem more personal to the protagonist imo) and the overall production is just stunning. The ambiguity of the term “The Lodgers” is also clever, is it the living residents or the dead?

I can’t however, say that my opinion hasn’t been influenced by my predisposition towards this genre.

It may have ended with me scratching my head in bewilderment, but I can’t disregard that fact that I may have missed a vital scene or clue to help explain the ending.

6.5/10

MV5BMTU5Mjc4NTM2Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjMzMzA5NTM@._V1_

Leave a comment